Attack of the novel.

October 19, 2011 at 9:23 pm (Uncategorized)

So here it is. Six months behind schedule; six frustrating months of endless editing, battling with software, cajoling reluctant friends into helping me out, coming home from the day job to spend all night in front of the computer – it’s finally here. Scar, by Ryan Frawley, published October 6th 2011.

Once I accepted the final proof, the system kicked into gear by itself. The first outlet to stock it was the Createspace estore. I get the most money from this – 50% of the cover price – but who the hell goes shopping on createspace? Three days later, the book went live on amazon.com. Before the day was out, I’d registered my first sale, thanks to a facebook status update and a supportive cousin.

Since the book is only on amazon.com and not on any of its foreign sites, such as amazon.ca or amazon.co.uk, I was concerned that the shipping would be exorbitant should anyone from those countries want to buy it. After all, I’m an English writer living in Canada; I expect a lot of my potential readers to come from those places. However, when I went to my amazon page (http://www.amazon.com/Scar-Ryan-Frawley/dp/098690130X/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1319083183&sr=8-1), I tested a few addresses and found that, for $4.99, it can be shipped to Canada in 11 days or less. It’s only $3.99 to ship it to the UK, if you’re willing to wait a month. I was pleasantly surprised by that.

The struggle is far from over, of course. The book’s out there now, but no one really knows about it. Now the actual selling starts.

On a personal note; I’ve been dreaming of being a novelist for as long as I can remember. How does it feel to have finally (sort of) arrived? Honestly, it doesn’t feel like anything. I don’t want to be a downer, and I certainly don’t want to discourage anyone from following their dreams – far from it – but this process has been such a hurdle-strewn hassle that it became just a job. A frustrating, non-paying job that consumed all my leisure time. And it’s not as though it’s in any way done now that the book’s out. Now I’m a novelist, but I have to become a salesman.

Enough complaining. I’ve published a novel at the age of 28. I’ll get happy, I’m sure, if I can get people reading it.

To that end: enter the ebook. More on that to follow….

Leave a Reply

